

The Director-General

MOVE.DDG1.B.4/HH/ARES(2021)1471532

## **DECISION** of the Director-General for Mobility and Transport (MOVE)

## appointing the Members and Observers of the sub-group of the Sustainable Transport Forum on governance and standards for communication exchange in the electromobility ecosystem

On 23 April 2015, the European Commission established the Sustainable Transport Forum ('the STF') <sup>1</sup>. By Commission Decision of 9 December 2020, <sup>2</sup> the STF has been renewed until 31/12/2030 (the 'STF renewal decision'). Under Article 8 in conjunction with Article 5 of those Decisions, the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission (DG MOVE) is entitled to set up sub-groups. On this basis, DG MOVE has set up a sub-group on governance and standards for communication exchange in the electromobility ecosystem ('the sub-group').

The sub-group is to assist the Commission in defining minimum principles and creating a governance framework that allows an open, single, secure and economically efficient management of the digital communications between the electric vehicle and the recharging infrastructure. The resulting governance framework will need to ensure full coherent among the different communication areas of the EV recharging ecosystem. Moreover, the sub-group will assist the Commission in order to support European and international standardisation, identifying and covering existing gaps, paving the way for harmonisation and convergence of communication standards and protocols.

According to Article 8(2) of the STF renewal decision, Type C members of the subgroup are selected via public call for applications, in compliance with the aformentioned Decision and the horizontal rules. To this end, on 23 December 2020, the European Commission published a call for applications with ref. 278 on the EUROPA website. The deadline for applications expired on 1 February 2021.

Members of the sub-group are appointed by the Director General of DG MOVE.

Following an assessment of the eligible applications received, the Director General of DG MOVE has decided to appoint the following organizations as Type C members to the sub-group:

- 1. ACEA
- 2. CHAdeMO
- 3. ChargePoint
- 4. ChargeUp Europe
- 5. CharIN
- 6. DigiCert
- 7. ECOS

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Commission Decision C(2015) 2583 final of 23 April 2015 on setting-up an expert group on alternative transport fuels ('the Sustainable Transport Forum').

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Commission Decision C(2020) 8535 final of 9 December 2020 on renewing the group of experts on alternative transport fuels ('the Sustainable Transport Forum').

- 8. ELAAD
- 9. EnBW
- 10. EnelX
- 11. Eon
- 12. Gireve
- 13. Hubject
- 14. IN Group
- 15. NKL
- 16. Shell
- 17. Smartlab innovationsgesellschaft mbH
- 18. Tesla
- 19. Vedecom
- 20. Virta

And the following public authorities as Type D members of the sub-group:

- 1. Germany
- 2. Greece

Moreover, the following organizations, authorities and/or public entities are appointed as observers to the sub-group:

1. California (US) (Type E)

The appointment is valid for a maximum of 3 years, starting on 1 March 2021. The membership/observer-status can be extended by decision of the Director-General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission.

For organisations, the mandate is subject to the registration in the Transparency Register.

Done in Brussels, 25 February 2021

Henrik HOLOLEI