

MOVE.DDG1.B.4/HH

## **DECISION** of the Director-General for Mobility and Transport (MOVE)

## extending the mandate of the members of the sub-group of the Sustainable Transport Forum on best practices of public authorities to support the deployment of recharging infrastructure

On 23 April 2015, the European Commission established the Sustainable Transport Forum ('the STF') (<sup>1</sup>). By Commission Decision of 9 December 2020, (<sup>2</sup>) the STF has been renewed until 31 December 2030 (the 'STF renewal decision'). Under Article 8 of the STF renewal decision, the Directorate General for Mobility and Transport of the European Commission (DG MOVE) is entitled to set up sub-groups. In response to a request from the Sustainable Transport Forum main group at its plenary session of 26 November 2020, DG MOVE thus set up a sub-group on best practices of public authorities to support the deployment of recharging infrastructure ('the sub-group').

According to Article 8(2) of the STF renewal decision, Type C members of the subgroup are selected via public call for applications. To this end, on 23 December 2020, the European Commission published a call for applications with ref. 280 on the EUROPA website, and on 25 February 2021 the Director-General of DG MOVE appointed the members of the sub-group, for a two-year period starting on 1 March 2021. (3) The current mandate of the appointed members is therefore due to end on 28 February 2023.

Since the establishment of the sub-group, various task forces have been set up under its wings to develop recommendations and guidance on a wide array of topics, and their work continues to this day. Various sub-group members are involved in the different standing task forces, and it would be prejudicial to the timely completion of the deliverables of those task forces if the membership of the sub-group, and consequently of the task forces, were abruptly altered during this process.

Therefore, in order to ensure continuity in the work of the sub-group and its standing task forces, the Director General of DG MOVE has decided to extend the mandate of the following **Type C member-organizations** of the sub-group:

- 1. AVERE
- 2. ChargeUp Europe
- 3. Eurocities
- 4. NKL
- 5. POLIS
- 6. RAP

<sup>(1)</sup> Commission Decision C(2015) 2583 final of 23 April 2015 on setting-up an expert group on alternative transport fuels ('the Sustainable Transport Forum').

<sup>(</sup>²) Commission Decision C(2020) 8535 final of 9 December 2020 on renewing the group of experts on alternative transport fuels ('the Sustainable Transport Forum').

<sup>(3)</sup> The appointment decision can be downloaded from this webpage: <u>Sub-group on best practices of public authorities to support the deployment of recharging infrastructure (europa.eu)</u>

- 7. Tesla
- 8. Fastned
- 9. Smartlab innovationsgesellschaft mbH
- 10. Tank&Rast

Also the mandate of the following public authorities or public entities as **Type D respectively Type E members** of the sub-group is extended:

- 1. City of Antwerp (Type D)
- 2. City of Barcelona (Type D)
- 3. City of Budapest (Type D)
- 4. Bulgaria (Type D)
- 5. Capital region of Denmark Greater Copenhagen (Type D)
- 6. City of Cork (Type D)
- 7. Czech Republic (Type D)
- 8. Denmark Danish Road Directorate (Type D)
- 9. City of Florence (Type D)
- 10. Germany (Type D)
- 11. City of Gothenburg (Type D)
- 12. Greece (Type D)
- 13. City of Krakow (Type D)
- 14. Lille Metropole (Type D)
- 15. City of Lisbon (Type D)
- 16. Lithuania (Type D)
- 17. City of Ljubljana (Type D)
- 18. Metropolitan Region Amsterdam-Electric (Type D)
- 19. The Netherlands (Type D)
- 20. City of Oslo (Type D)
- 21. City of Prague (Type D)
- 22. Romania (Type D)
- 23. City of Rotterdam (Type D)
- 24. City of Stuttgart (Type D)
- 25. City of Thessaloniki (Type D)

The extension is valid for two years, starting on 1 March 2023. The membership can be further extended by decision of the Director General of DG MOVE.

Moreover, the following organizations, authorities and/or public entities shall be (re)invited as **observers** to the sub-group:

- 1. AustriaTech
- 2. Baden-Württemberg
- 3. California Energy Commission (US)

The services of the Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE) may invite additional observers to the sub-group.

For organisations, the mandate is subject to the registration in the Transparency Register.

Done in Brussels,

(e-signed) Henrik HOLOLEI