Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport
News article14 February 2022Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport1 min read

European sustainable mobility awards: 12 cities in final race

The European Commission announces today the finalists for the European Mobility Week Awards 2021. Amadora, Kassel, and Lüleburgaz are in the running for the award for larger municipalities, with over 100,000 inhabitants, while Alimos, Miajadas, and Valongo are the finalists in the smaller municipalities category. Both awards are presented in recognition of remarkable initiatives to make cities greener and safer. The finalists for the Sustainable Urban Mobility Planning Award are Madrid, Mitrovica South, and Tampere. Florence, Rethymno and Warsaw are competing for the EU Urban Road Safety Award celebrating outstanding road safety measures.

Commissioner for Transport, Adina Vălean, said: “Congratulations to the finalists who are real frontrunners showing how cities and towns across Europe can improve people's wellbeing by shifting towards cleaner, greener and easier transport options for all. We are supporting this transition with our new EU Urban Mobility Framework, setting out European guidance on how cities can cut carbon and pollutant emissions and improve mobility.” 

The European Mobility Week campaign runs from 16-22 September each year. Last year saw a record-breaking increase in participation: over 3,100 towns and cities across 53 countries participated in the campaign. The winners will be announced during a ceremony on 28 March at 15.00 CET.

More information and to attend the event


Publication date
14 February 2022
Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport