Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport

Four corridors run through the Austrian network:

  • Scandinavian - Mediterranean corridor crossing the western part of the country between the German and the Italian border, via Innsbruck.
  • Baltic - Adriatic corridor crossing the eastern part of the country, via Vienna, Graz and Klagenfurt.
  • Orient / East - Med corridor between the Czech and the Hungarian borders, via Vienna.
  • Rhine - Danube corridor crossing the northern part of the country between the German and the Slovakian borders via Wels/Linz and Vienna.

Infrastructure Managers

ÖBB Infrastruktur AG is the national infrastructure manager of the Austrian network. This network has a part (over 1 100 km) which belongs to the Core Network Corridors.

Information regarding the Austrian network and its features can be found at:

National implementation plan

The Austrian National Implementation Plan (NIP) was delivered in 2017. It is fully compliant with the ERTMS European Deployment Plan.

According to the Austrian NIP:

  • The entire network will be equipped with ERTMS level 2.
  • In Austria, there are two Class B systems: PZB and LZB. For sections equipped with ETCS, Class BPZB will be removed after three years of being equipped with ERTMS. In contrast, LZB will be decommissioned as soon as ERTMS is deployed. Therefore, the full decommissioning of LZB is expected by 2030, and of PZB by the late 2030s. In addition, lines equipped with ETCS may be accessed by vehicles with ETCS onboard equipment only.

National Implementation Plans (NIP) country by country

National Safety Authority

The Federal Ministry of Transport is the Austrian national authority for railway issues.