Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport

In the enlargement process, DG MOVE ensures that candidate countries (Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Türkiye) and potential candidate countries (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo (This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence) transpose and apply all legislation from the EU's acquis communautaire.

This leads the countries to implement all EU transport policies and set the appropriate reforms well before their actual accession. The progress towards this goal is monitored either in the formally defined negotiation process for the most advanced countries and in yearly meetings of the Sub-committee on Transport established under the Stabilisation and Association Agreements that have been signed with the countries in the Western Balkans (except Kosovo). For Türkiye a regular multimodal dialogue has been established. The assessment of the progress towards accession is published by the Commission each year in the autumn progress reports for each country.

Further information on the Enlargement process, the financial Instrument for Pre-Accession Asssitance (IPA) and detailed information broken down per country is available on the web-site of the Directorate general for the "European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations – NEAR".

Candidate countries and Potential candidate countries

Progress reports for each country

Directorate general for the "European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations – NEAR"