Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport

European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)

Established in 2002, the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) is an EU agency based in Cologne, Germany. EASA was established and is governed in accordance with Regulation (EU) 2018/1139 (EASA Basic Regulation).

EASA provides the European Commission with the necessary technical, scientific, and administrative support it needs to carry out its aviation safety obligations. EASA’s tasks include:

  • Providing environmental and airworthiness certification of aircraft and their components, and approving organisations involved in the certification activities
  • Monitoring and ensuring the implementation of EU aviation safety rules in the Member States
  • Promoting the use of European standards worldwide

For more information, please see the EASA website.