Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport
News article22 September 2016Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport1 min read

Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking nominates new Executive Director

Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking nominates new Executive Director

Shift2Rail Joint Undertaking (S2R JU) announced today the nomination of Carlo Borghini as its new Executive Director.

Mr Borghini's appointment comes as the JU reaches a fully operational state, with all its Members selected and the first call for research activities under way. "On behalf of the Board, I would like to congratulate Carlo Borghini on his nomination", said Henrik Hololei, Chair of S2R JU's Governing Board and Director General, DG Mobility & Transport at the European Commission. "Thanks to his proven experience, we are convinced Carlo is an excellent choice to lead and to deliver on S2R JU".

Commenting on his appointment, Carlo Borghini said "Shift2Rail is Europe's most ambitious programme of research in the rail sector, and is vital to ensuring the long term competitiveness of the industry and to delivering sustainable transport in Europe. I am very honoured to have been chosen to lead this programme, and look forward to working with all Members of the JU to ensure we deliver the results they expect."

Carlo Borghini has extensive experience in running large scale research programmes as well as European Agencies. Since July 2014 he has been Corporate Services Director at the European Defence Agency where he is responsible for the overall management of financial and human resources, as well as administrative issues.

Carlo Borghini's appointment will be effective by late spring 2016, subject to the completion of the necessary administrative procedures required to finalise the recruitment. His contract will run for an initial period of five years, after which the Governing Board may decide to extend the term of office for a further period of up to five years.

See also the press release on the the shift2rail website .


Publication date
22 September 2016
Directorate-General for Mobility and Transport