Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport

The European Common Aviation Area agreement is an ambitious agreement between the partners from South-Eastern Europe: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Kosovo (This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence) on the one side and the European Union, Norway and Iceland on the other side.

The ECAA Agreement is a multilateral agreement signed on 9 June 2006. It entered into force on 1 December 2017. This is an important step towards a closer and deeper integration of all the countries in the Western Balkan region into the European aviation area that will further enhance growth, connectivity and competitiveness for all of us.

The aim of this aviation agreement is the creation of a European Common Aviation Area (ECAA), integrating the EU’s neighbours in South-East Europe in the EU's internal aviation market which consists of EU Member States as well as Norway and Iceland. The ECAA agreement, by creating a single aviation market, should deliver substantial economic benefits for air travellers and the aviation industry, covering 36 countries and more than 500 million people. At the same time, the agreement guarantees that the same high standards in term of safety and security across Europe, through the uniform application of rules.

The ECAA has already allowed for unprecedented levels of connectivity: the number of individual city pairs has tripled between the EU and the Western Balkans and passenger numbers have more than doubled.

For further information and figures on EU-Western Balkans aviation relations and EU aviation in general, please consult the Atlas of the Sky.


EU and Western Balkans


Bosnia and Herzegovina

North Macedonia