Skip to main content
Mobility and Transport

The corridors that run through the French network are the following:

  • Mediterranean corridor, from the Spanish border at Perpignan to the Italian border via Lyon and Marseille.
  • Atlantic corridor, from the Spanish border at Hendaye to the German border at Strasbourg and a branch to Mannheim, via Bordeaux, Paris and Metz.
  • North Sea - Mediterranean corridor, from the UK border (Channel Tunnel) to Lille and the Belgian border, then from Luxembourg southbound to Marseille, via Dijon and Lyon.
  • Rhine - Danube corridor, starting in Strasbourg.

Infrastructure Managers

SNCF-Réseau manages the French network. This network has a part which belongs to the Core Network Corridors (over 6,900 km).

Information regarding the French network and its features:

The SNCF provided a map: ERTMS Deployment map in France.

National implementation plan

The French National Implementation Plan (NIP) was delivered in 2017. It is compliant with the ERTMS European Deployment Plan with the mentioned sections. However, no detailed plans are provided for some sections (mainly beyond-2023 sections).

According to the French NIP:

  • The network will have mixed ERTMS levels; some lines will be equipped with ERTMS Level 1 (such as conventional lines) and others with ERTMS Level 2, such as the high-speed lines.
  • There are no plans to decommission the TVM on the high-speed network before 2030. No dismantling of the KVB is scheduled at this stage on the conventional network; works are on hold while waiting for the information that will be provided by ongoing studies.

National Implementation Plans (NIP) country by country

National Safety Authority

The EPSF (Établissement Public de Sécurité Ferroviaire) is the French NSA, responsible for the rail system’s coherence and safety, as well as the interoperability of the European rail networks running through France. The scope of the EPSF activities is the French national rail network.

The Channel Tunnel between France and the United Kingdom has an independent and intergovernmental regulator, the Channel Tunnel Intergovernmental Commission (IGC).